Surviving February

February 15, 2010

I come from sunny Los Angeles, but have been living in Tokyo for the last 16 years. And every year, about this time, I am struck by the chilling reality that while global warming might kill us in the end, there’s the strong possibility that some of us might freeze to death first.

And yet… I love February in Tokyo: grey skies, icy rain, millions of people rushing about in sweaters and scarves, braving the winds, sidestepping the puddles, hiding from flurries of snow…

And I love… anchoring myself to the table in my living room because every other room in my manshon (Western apartment) is simply too cold to walk into. And so it is from this table that I write my message to the world, and the looking-glass I see today is a dark, dreary, overcast one. But… there is much beauty in the greys, the silvers and the clouds that swirl and swoop and threaten…

Let them, I say. Perfect weather for writing a drama… which is what I’ve been doing. My first dramatic screenplay. What a struggle! The laughs have always come to me easily, but a drama… well, indeed, that’s a horse of a different color. But I soldier on, because I’ve made a promise to myself to finish my drama before the end of this month. I’m going to embrace my February, it’s depressing gloom, its short, snowy days. I’m going to make it work for me.

This is my first entry and I will endeavor to use this blog to share with you what I see through my looking-glass, a displaced Los Angeleno in his now adopted home of Tokyo, a songwriter turned screenwriter with a dream of seeing my screenplays on the silver screen… or even on the computer screen.

This is my creative adventure, my chance to share a few observations about all that is odd, strange, wonderful, beautiful, haunting, enchanting… all that I see through my looking-glass.

2 Responses to “Surviving February”

  1. Kimberly said

    I hope I can read more of your thoughts, safely anchored at my living room table on the hot carpet!! Glad & excited to see your new blog.

  2. Ooh! Drama has always been my forté, comedy, not so much!!

    Looking forward to reading more.

    Cheers!

    Paul

Leave a Reply

