Facing the Page

February 16, 2010

Although I love to write, I, like most writers, dread “facing the page.” Once you decide you want to write, you have an enormous responsibility to make sure that you actually do write. You are suddenly responsible for other lives, other stories, other worlds. Your characters flourish or flounder at the tip of your pen (or via the clickety-clack of your keyboard). Who needs such responsibility in a world where we are overloaded and overwhelmed? I sure the hell don’t!

And yet… once I am willing to “give in” to my “higher powers” and “surrender” myself to all the voices in my head (and yes, I hear them!), then I find my writing starts to flow. So, if you’re like me, clear your workspace, set the mood, get your “music to write movies by” playing, and… submerge yourself in your gifts.

More importantly: Don’t judge, don’t backtrack, don’t edit, don’t criticize. Just keep moving the pen (or the fingers). Get the ideas down. Easier said than done, I know.

Today I have a short script I’ve been working on, as well as my feature that I have not finished, but have vowed to finish by the end of February.  So… I take a glance at my looking-glass today… I see the rain, the threat of snow, the silver-blues and grays… I embrace them and let them help guide me to the words my heart needs to say. There’s so much I need to say… must get started.

Leave a Reply

