Commitment

March 30, 2010

Sunlight on a Japanese screen

Sunlight on a Japanese screen

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. I feel guilty about it. Even if this post is only for myself, and only a way to help me put my words down in a form that is easily accessible, I feel guilty if I can’t get to the blog on a regular basis.

The reasons why are not important, but what my “absence” has made me realize is: All writing is about commitment. Words do not get on the page by themselves. Someone (preferably human) has to write them down or type them up. This requires commitment.

This last week when other things were distracting me (or, as others would be quick to point out, when I was allowing things to distract me), I did not put my efforts into my screenplay. I let other things take priority.

Sometimes, yes, there are other things that demand attention (and not only things, but people)… and I am still struggling to find that balance between “dealing” with things and making it clear to all around me (but most importantly to myself) that I am a writer. “Being a writer,” to me, means 1) getting my thoughts out of my head and onto the page before they drive me insane, and 2) getting my thoughts down in such a way that they make sense to me (and perhaps others).

The “reason” for my being distracted will be ending today… and I am ecstatic. But I think, more importantly, that during this period of time when I was “away,” that my mind kept saying, “Don’t forget about the script! Don’t forget about your stories! Don’t forget about your time–the precious time you need to write.”

So, today is an opportunity to remind myself that, yes, I write. And, yes, I make the commitment to write. And today is also an opportunity to observe that, once again, “wanting” and “doing” are different things and when I am “doing” I am not thinking about “wanting.” So, whatever your creative dreams are, I hope you are actively “doing” them, because, at least as far as I know, that’s the only way they’ll ever get done.

Leave a Reply

